I am actually going to Japan – An Update

Hello interwebs! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? A very long time!

I went on an unannounced hiatus because everything got very busy very quickly. The six weeks of the Renaissance festival in February was the first big time suck which led into the super busy part of the semester which eventually lead to finals. And here we are! School is over, I’m going to be working full time and my trip is pretty much finalized and set. Holy cow, right?

So, let’s get to the juicy bits: The actual status of the trip and what it looks like!

Super quick summary:

In my previous post (oh so long ago!), there was no definite plan for the trip. I was stuck between Seinan Gakuin University in Fukuoka and Akita International University and my school’s program at Kansai Gaidai University was totally off the table.

Through on odd chain of events, a bunch of people dropped out of the wait list and (even though I had removed myself previously), Tania from our International Program’s office called me and offered a spot at Kansai Gaidai for Fall 2014. I jumped on it cause school will give me money this way. SGU and AIU were still in the running IF I received the Boren but since I recently found out I did NOT receive the Boren (my feelings in response deserve their own post) they are off the table and Kansai Gaidai is it!

I have applied to EVERYTHING at this point. This includes applications to KGU, SGU, AIU for Fall 2014 semesters as well as the application to SGU for their summer program and tons of scholarships (none of which I have received so far *sigh*).

MeandSGUsummerapp

Me and my SGU Summe Program App

I’ve been accepted into SGU’s summer program (yay!) and though I haven’t been officially accepted into KGU that is more of a formality since my school nominated me through their partnership. I’ve paid for the summer program and my air fare!

As it stands now (which is pretty solid), the trip looks like this:

June 30th-August 1st: Seinan Gakuin University’s Summer Program in Fukuoka.

1fb72-e8b5a4e383ace383b3e382ace9a4a8

  • Intensive Language program – 3 hours of Japanese a day!
  • Dorm living
  • MY BEST FRIEND WILL BE WITH ME OMFG I AM SO HAPPYahem… I mean… My best friend will also be joining me on this part of the trip.
  • July 25th-July 27th we will be going to Tokyo!

August 1st-August 22nd: Wahaha Language School in Fukuoka

  • Language course!
  • Homestay!
  • Kind of a filler and I might end up not doing this if I can find cheap living accommodations for 3 weeks instead.

August 23-December 24th: Kansai Gaidai University for Fall 2014 semester

kansaigaidai

  • 4 Classes that are so far unknown.
  • Homestay

I’m definitely going to try to fit in some other lighter traveling in between all this, but it all depends on funds which are tight since none of my scholarships have come through. At this point I’m waiting to hear back from 1 more. Here is to hoping!

Future posts will address a few things in detail such as planning the Tokyo trip, going to Japan with my best friend, what applying has been like/what I’ve learned.

See you then!

Leave a Reply

