Update: Road Block Part 3 – One Path Closes

The winding path!

The winding path!

Today, after over a week of not hearing from the study abroad department, I emailed them to see if they had any news. They did. Suffice to say it wasn’t good.

Kansai Gaidai did not send enough spots over. They sent only one. Which means the earliest they could get me in is Spring 2015 which I think I would easily switch to if not for the amazing Summer program being lead by my Sensei to Fukuoka. Also, it really just isn’t when I wanted to go.

As far as a new partnership with another school goes (I was told Sophia University was looking good for a bit there) they are still in negotiations and they cannot give me a time table of anything.

Which basically means, if I want to go Fall 2014, I will not be going through my school’s programs. As mentioned before, it was the significantly cheaper option and allowed me to use my scholarships.

This is a bit of a blow to me. When I got the email, I was kind of crushed. I knew it might happen. It wasn’t a surprise but it was upsetting just the same. So now I desperately look at other options. Trying to find something good and worthwhile that won’t totally break my very teeny-tiny bank. Its slim pickings, guys. But I have some direct enroll options that look good. As well as the USAC options.

One of the new direct enrolls is Akita International University. I don’t know much about Akita or the school but it looks  good. Seinan Gakuin is also a decent priced direct enroll and my Sensei’s sister works there and it is in Fukuoka which is the same city my Sensei will be taking us too.

Any way, more on that another time. I’m tired and it is late. Good morning to you all. I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

